“…a little bit of this, a little bit of that”

the ramblings and musings of an elementary music teacher and aunt extraordinaire

I voted!! November 4, 2008

Filed under: what I'm learning — marlise @ 6:09 pm

voteYes, I did. I stopped by the polling place on my way to work this morning. The line for my district was (of course) the longest line at the polling place, but it still wasn’t terribly long. I even have a sticker to prove it. It’s not a very pretty sticker, but it does proudly state, “I voted.” And I am proud that I voted. I am very grateful for that right. Lots of people have sacrificed a great deal for me to have that right, and I hope I never take that for granted.

My mind has been racing with thoughts of the election. I’ve not been really sure how to process everything. I know where I stand, and I did all my research several weeks ago, so there wasn’t any confusion on who to vote for. My mind has been racing ahead to the impact the results of this election may or may not have on this country. Then, I came across a few poignant verses this morning. I’m in a ladies’ Bible study through my church. The current study is on Proverbs. We’re going through the study a chapter or a topic at a time, but I’ve been so intrigued by what Proverbs contains that I’ve been trying to read a few chapters a day. Today’s chapters were 19-21. That’s where I came across some very fitting passages for today’s election:

Proverbs 19:21″Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.”

Proverbs 21:1 “The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD; he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases.”

I thought these were particularly fitting reminders for today. It’s a great comfort to know that God is in control no matter what the outcome. I also had another comforting realization this morning. It’s not nearly as spiritual in nature, but it’s still very comforting. I realized that after today, those horrible political ads will be put on hold (for at least a few months.) Those two realizations made my day.

 

Leave a Reply

