“…a little bit of this, a little bit of that”

the ramblings and musings of an elementary music teacher and aunt extraordinaire

Have I told you about my birthday resolution? November 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — marlise @ 3:37 pm

A couple weeks ago, I had a birthday.  Now, it wasn’t a landmark birthday, and I’m thankful that when most people find out my age, they are still able to honestly think of me as young.  However, the day before my birthday brought a real epiphany to me.  I was in the copy room after school with a few other teachers.  These teachers are all several years older than I am.  They were complaining about how they are out of shape, and despite their best intentions to get in shape, they have not taken the necessary steps to get into shape.  One of the ladies said, “I told my husband I wanted to be in the best shape of my life when I turned 50.  That’s only 6 months away now.  I don’t think it’s gonna happen.”  That’s when I realized that if I don’t make a concerted effort to take care of myself now, it’s not going to get any easier in the future.

So, I made a resolution.  I resolved to get back on a workout plan and to be far more careful with my nutrition.  So far, I’m into the middle of week 2, and I haven’t had any major failures yet.  So, you may be wondering why I’m telling you all of this.  Well, it’s simple.  I’ve learned through much trial and error that I do much better when someone holds me accountable.   So, if you think of it, now and then, would you please ask me how I’m doing?  Thanks.

 

One Response to “Have I told you about my birthday resolution?”

  1. Melissa Says:

    So, how are you doing? 🙂

    A website that might interest you….www.realfood.info

    Also….www.ninaplanck.com

    I’m reading the author’s book right now and it’s very interesting.

    Hope you are doing well!

    Melissa


Leave a Reply

