“…a little bit of this, a little bit of that”

the ramblings and musings of an elementary music teacher and aunt extraordinaire

Changes in the works June 28, 2010

Filed under: my life as a music teacher,what I'm learning — marlise @ 2:34 pm

This summer has been a great one for my private piano studio.  I have gotten a few unexpected calls from people wanting to start themselves and/or their children.  The timing couldn’t be much better. It makes great motivation for getting my house in order. The extra income that comes with these lessons is an added bonus. At the same time, these new students are bringing new challenges.  A few of my new students are adults, and two of the others have special needs.  I enjoy all of my students, but I have not had a good retention rate for either of these categories.  I believe the cause for this is that these particular categories of students don’t learn nearly as fast as they would like.

This brings me to my first change.  Almost five years ago, I heard from a music teacher friend of mine that she had started teaching a new method and loved it.  It’s called Simply Music.  I researched it, and have come to the conclusion that it offers an opportunity to fill in the gaps in my teaching.  It seems to address the areas of music that my teaching has been weakest. At the same time, I believe it adequately covers the areas where my previous method was strong. I’m excited to learn this method and see where it goes!

The second change is something that I have done on and off for a while–taking care of my health.  I do well with eating and exercise for a while, but my persistence has been less than stellar.  I recently joined Weight Watchers online program.  I only started a little over a week ago, but I’m loving it so far.  The point system seems like a great fit for me.  It’s concrete and flexible at the same time. I re-started my exercise program at the same time.  This has yet to become a real habit, but I’m making progress. The best news of all is that I’ve lost 2.5 lbs. so far.  One major mistake I think I’ve made in the past is balancing my tracking methods. I would either weigh/measure too often or not enough.  With the WW program, I’m measuring once a week and completely avoiding measurements between weigh-ins. Another way I’m hoping this program will be good for me is that I’ve paid for the first three months.  I’m hoping this will make me less likely to back out. We’ll see how it goes!

 

Leave a Reply

