“…a little bit of this, a little bit of that”

the ramblings and musings of an elementary music teacher and aunt extraordinaire

for Auld Lang Syne January 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — marlise @ 12:35 am
Tags:

Yes, I had to use that phrase that so few people understand….. I learned this a few years ago from one of the music textbooks in my classroom.  “Auld Lang Syne” means “old time’s sake.”  The song is all about reflecting on the past, and that’s exactly what I like to do at this time every year.  2010 was a very interesting and challenging year for me. If I try to sum it up, it will either be completely incoherent or novel-length, so I’m going to list my highlights–highs, lows, significant, and mundane.

  • Started the year living at my parent’s house while house hunting
  • Bought a house in January
  • Moved into the house in the first week in April
  • Got serious about weight loss and fitness
  • Lost 35 lbs. and 22 inches
  • Woke up on Labor Day and decided to start running
  • Officially became a runner
  • Ran my first 5k on Nov. 20th
  • Paid off the last of my credit card debt that had been hanging over my head since a period of underemployment 7 years ago
  • Started a new piano teaching method, Simply Music–By the way, I LOVE it!
  • Started a 1-year Bible reading program
  • Made it to about May.  (This was the first time I attempted this type of program. I loved it while I did it, but sadly, let other life get in the way. I’ll be trying again this year.)
  • Survived and started another school year
  • Shocked myself by realizing how much I enjoy my job
  • Travelled absolutely nowhere!–This is very unusual for me.  This is probably the first year that has happened since I was in elementary school.  I could say for sure I took trips every year since late elementary school, because I remember most of them. It’s possible that 2010 was the first year ever in my life that I didn’t travel, but I’m not exactly sure.
  • Saw miraculous answers to prayers several times this year
  • Welcomed a new nephew on Christmas day! –This makes me an aunt 12 times over (or 14, depending on how you count–it’s a little confusing.)

That’s all of the major stuff I can remember right now.  Overall, it was a pretty good year—a year of personal growth, personal challenges, small victories, growth, miracles, and answered prayer.  [In a later post, I’ll list some of my goals for 2011.  I’m not really a resolution maker, because I feel like that tends to set me up for failure. However, I do like to balance my evaluation of the year that just ended with a little glimpse at what I’d like to see in the year ahead.]  I’m looking forward to seeing where the Lord will take me in 2011!

 

Leave a Reply

